History

A Rich Territory

plan_007

South-east of the Laurentides, very near urban centres such as Montreal (80 km away) and the Gatineau-Ottawa region (130 km away) is a natural stronghold known as Argenteuil. With its immense forests, rich in fauna and flora, dynamic cities and picturesque villages, agricultural plains next to mountains, numerous lakes and large rivers, these landscapes offer contrasting profiles. A wonderfully built heritage, a fascinating history, cultural and tourist attractions as varied as numerous, a welcoming population, this is what this real country is inviting you to discover.

The Origin of the “Mille-Isles” Name

The topography of this municipality of modest size, located north-west of the old seigniory of Mille-Îles or Mille-Isles, north-east of Grenville and south of Saint-Sauveur in the Laurentides region, is very irregular, doted with well-stocked lakes, interspersed with important elevations, and criss-crossed by rivers. It is named after the seigniory of Milles-Isles, as per the original written form, ceded in 1683 to Michel-Sidrac Dugué de Boisbriand (circa 1638-1688). In 1714, it was further ceded to Charles-Gaspard Piot de Langloiserie (circa 1655-1715) and Jean Petit (1663-1720), respective spouses of Marie-Thérèse Dugué and Charlotte Dugué, daughters of the first lord. Finally, in 1752, an increment was granted to Eustache Lambert Dumont and it is on this territory that the municipality would be established. The presence of many water bodies and islands justifies, firstly, the name of the river, then the naming of the seigniorial entity, with the word “île” originally written “isle” as per the ancient spelling, the circumflex serving as a substitute to the lost “s” in modern French. The pionners who arrived around 1850 – the municipality was officially created in 1855 following its separation from the parish of Saint-Jérôme – were from Ireland, which explains why the only name of inhabitants used for Mille-Isles citizen is the English form, Mille-Isler.

Source: “Noms et lieux du Québec”, work from the “Commission de toponymie” published in 1994 and 1996 as a printed illustrated dictionary, and as a CDROM published by the company Micro-Intel, in 1997, based on this dictionary.