A Rich territory: South-east of the Laurentians, close to urban centres such as Montreal (80 km away) and the Gatineau-Ottawa region (130 km away) is a natural stronghold known as Argenteuil. With its immense forests, rich in fauna and flora, dynamic cities and picturesque villages, agricultural plains next to mountains, numerous lakes and large rivers, these landscapes offer contrasting profiles. A wonderfully built heritage, a fascinating history, cultural and tourist attractions as varied as numerous, a welcoming population, this is what this authentic region is inviting you to discover.

The Origin of the Mille-Isles Name: The topography of this municipality of modest size, located at the northwestern extremity of the old seigneury of Mille-Îles or Mille-Isles, northeast of Grenville and south of Saint-Sauveur in the Laurentians region, is very irregular, dotted with fish lakes, interspersed with important elevations, and criss-crossed by rivers. It takes its name from the seigneury of Milles-Isles, following the old script, granted in 1683 to Michel-Sidrac Dugué de Boisbriand (around 1638-1688). In 1714, it was again conceded to Charles-Gaspard Piot de Langloiserie (around 1655-1715) and Jean Petit (1663-1720), respective spouses of Marie-Thérèse Dugué and Charlotte Dugué, daughters of the first lord. Finally, in 1752, an increase was granted to Eustache Lambert Dumont and it was on this territory that the municipality was to be established. The presence of numerous riversand islands justifies firstly the name of the river, then the naming of the seigniorial entity, with the word île originally written isle as per the ancient spelling, the circumflex serving as a substitute for the disappeared in modern French. The pionners who arrived around 1850 [the municipality was officially created in 1855 following its detachment from the parish of Saint-Jérôme] came from Ireland, which explains why the only gentile collected so far for the citizens of Mille-Isles is the English form, Mille-Isles.

Source: “Noms et lieux du Québec”, work from the “Commission de toponymie” published in 1994 and 1996 as a printed illustrated dictionary, and as a CDROM published by the company Micro-Intel, in 1997, based on this dictionary.